All About Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga: Yogi Interview

ashtanga vinyasa yoga yogi interview frugal fitness blog

Yogi Interview On Fundamentals of Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga 

This interview with an experienced yogi reveals the honest and real facets of yoga. This one-on-one is an insight into the yogic practices and postures known as Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga.

Can We Classify Or Differentiate Yoga? 

Yes, we can. There are different types of yoga, yogic practices, and branch. However, all yogic practices lead to a common goal of achieving harmony of “body, mind, and soul”. The ultimate purpose of every branch or type of yoga is attainment of supreme consciousness. The two primary types or form of yoga are “Ashtanga Yoga and Iyengar Yogic practices”. There are also 6 other branches or types of yoga, which are significant in their own practices. 

Explain The Meaning Of Ashtanga Yoga? 

Ashtanga is derived from two words “Ashta and Anga”. These two words finds its origin in “Sanskrit” one of world’s oldest language, in which all secret sciences, mythology and epics of Hinduism is written by sages many thousand years ago. In English “Ashta” means eight and “Anga” means limb. Thus, Ashtanga together resembles in English ~ eight limbs path. Therefore, “Ashtanga Yoga” is concept is about the eight limbs fundamentals based on yoga philosophy of Patanjali. Ashtanga yoga teacher training in India is based on many Vinyasas, and is helpful in developing core strength of body, toning of muscle, potency of mind, and powerfulness of soul. 

It’s also one of the primary conceptualization of Ashtanga practices and as stated in Patanjali sutras. Ashtanga Yoga was an ancient art of healing, science of holistic therapy, and practice of attaining supreme consciousness. It was forgotten long back, until its sudden emergence during 20th century “world health and good lifestyle revolution” especially in West. Its conceptualization in contemporary world is based on “eight limbs path, physical yoga postures, asanas, breathe control, and recommended diet patterns”. 

Can You Give Us Insight Into History Of Ashtanga Yoga? 

Ashtanga Yoga is an inseparable part of Yoga and its practices. Yoga dates back to 5000 years B.C. and is explained in “Vedic Philosophy & Tantra”. Thus, Ashtanga Yogic practices find its root in 5,000 years old book of “Patanjali Yoga Sutra” compiled by great sages of that era. In Vedic Philosophy “Lord Shiva” is revered as the first yogi, and Saptharishis are considered to be the first batch of students, who learnt it from the lord itself. So, its background goes back to the early times of human evolution and in its sutra where the eight limbs paths are defined. 

What Are The Eight Limbs Of Ashtanga Yoga? 

Vinyasa yoga in Goa, focuses on the eight limbs of “Ashtanga Yoga retreats in India” mainly, and also teaches how to practice the yoga postures correctly. They introduce a fine balance between :Ashtanga and Iyengar” yoga practices. 

What Are The Eight Limbs Of Ashtanga Yoga In Detail? 

1. Yama – It explains the principles of moral code of conduct 
2. Niyama – It talks about the personal disciplines 
3. Asana – It focuses on yogic positions and yogic practices 
4. Pranayama – It concentrates on controlling of breathe 
5. Pratyahara – It focuses on transcending to withdrawal of senses 
6. Dharana – It’s mainly about concentration on object 
7. Dhyana – It ultimately let us concerns with meditation 
8. Samadhi – It encourages us to move forth towards salvation 

These, eight limbs are soul of Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga. No, yogic practices can be complete or fulfilled without touching these eight limbs fundamentals. 

I hope you enjoyed this article about enjoying the health benefits of Ashtanga Vinyasa yoga on a tight budget.

Interested in more articles about utilizing yoga? 

Read My Posts:

- How To Break Through Your Yoga Blocks

- Combine Yoga & Cycling For The Best Of Both Worlds

More Frugal Fitness Finds Below

Frugal Fitness Feed: Newest Articles